Preserving Our Past, To Inspire Our Future

More than 140 Years of History

Discover the rich history of Phoenix law enforcement at the Phoenix Police Museum. Trace its roots back to 1881 when Henry Garfias was elected as the city’s first City Marshal and explore how far it has come in the present day. Explore a range of artifacts, documents, and photographs that tell an exciting story of service and dedication throughout the years. See firsthand how Phoenix Police have shaped the city and its people. Visit the Phoenix Police Museum today to learn more!

The Phoenix Museum was founded in 1993 by a small group of police employees who wanted to preserve the past. They were dedicated to sharing the rich history of the Phoenix Police Department through exhibits and artifacts, and to promote the way police employees work to make the City of Phoenix safe for all.

Grand Opening

Experience parts of our past through the eyes of the men and women who take the oath to protect it.

Grand Opening Video

Ways to Get Involved

We feature Phoenix’s law enforcement history for the past 140 years starting from 1881 to present day through historical photography, equipment and stories that bring them to life.

Donate for Badge #1 Project

We have located Phoenix Police Badge #1. It was worn by George Brisbois in 1913. Brisbois went on to become the Chief of Police. We are working on acquiring the badge and make it a permanent part of the museum collection on display to the public.

Donate Artifacts

The Phoenix Police Museum is always looking to acquire former Phoenix Police equipment, both official or personal in nature. We are also looking for copies of photos of old Phoenix Police Vehicles, Phoenix Police stations and/or Phoenix Police employees in uniform. To donate, please contact us at [email protected]

Visit Us

The Phoenix Police Museum is located at 17 South 2nd Avenue in the Historical Old Phoenix City Hall. The entrance is located on the Jefferson Street side of the building. There is NO parking at the museum. Parking is available at the city parking garage located at
305 West Washington Street. The museum operates from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., with the last entrance at 2:30 p.m. The museum is closed Saturdays and Sundays and all City holidays.

Group Visit Reservation

A donation of $25 is requested for groups of 10 persons or more. We require appropriate adult supervision ratio for children and special needs individuals. Normal group sizes are to be no larger than 20 persons. It is best to schedule one month in advance if you are requesting a specific time and day.

Click below to schedule a group visit.

Captain Carroll Cooley

Retired Captain Carroll Cooley passed away on Monday, May 29, 2023. Captain Cooley was the arresting officer of Ernesto Miranda whose case led to the 1966 U.S. Supreme Court decision of the Miranda Rights.